UK Care Housing Awards

Raison D’être

To celebrate and reward excellence in the UK Care Housing sector. The awards have been created by the UK Over 50s Housing News. This is the sixteenth year of the awards.

The philosophy behind the awards is;

  • To give recognition to efforts to advance profitability/surplus of all industry sectors,
  • And reward those who lift and enhance via innovation the customer experience/enjoyment.


All award winners must be UK / Ireland based and have operated throughout the period of November 2022 until December 2023, and be adjudicated by the judge to have been the best example in the subset of their sector during this period.


Anyone is free to bring to our attention any individual/company they believe merits recognition. NOMINATE NOW


The final arbiter will be the Editorial Board of the UK Over 50s Housing News. Its decision will be final and no correspondence will be entertained.

The members of the Editorial Board have collectively been involved in the industry for over 160 years.

The Editorial Board is the most widely travelled group in UK journalism, visiting and observing industry trends in 6-8 countries each year, anonymously walking through 200-250 facilities every 12 months, free of sector bias, association links, open to new entrants and conscious that significant changes to industry sectors often come via free thinking interlopers.

The Editorial Board is free of commercial links and is in a unique position to make considered, balanced and impartial judgments based on intellect, effort, commitment, honesty and the rewards of both shareholder/stakeholder and the client/customer.


Active Adults, Adult Day Care/Respite, Affordable, Aged Care, Assisted Living, Autism/Aspergers, Brain Injury, Care Home, Care Village, Clinics, Community Care, Community Housing, Continuing Care Retirement Community (CCRC), Co-Op Housing, Day Care, Dementia/Alzheimer’s, Disability Housing & Care Services, EMI Unit, Extra Care, Golf Estate, Health Care Centre, Health Education, Health Parks, Home Care, Hospice, Hospitals, Hostel, Housing Which Targets Over 50s, Independent Living Units, Learning Disability (Adult), Learning Disability (Child), Lofts, Medical Centres, Medical Health Services, Mental Health Services, Mixed Generation Housing, Multi Purpose Health Centre, Multigenerational Housing, Neurology Care, Nursing Home, Palliative, Park Housing, Regeneration, Rehabilitation, Rental Housing, Residential Care, Resort Parks, Respite, Rest Home, Retirement Apartments, Retirement Community, Retirement Flats, Retirement Village, Seniors Living, Share Flats, Shared Ownership, Sheltered Housing, Skilled Nursing, Social Housing, Specialist Education Centre, Specialist Estates, Spinal Injury, Stroke Rehab, Supported Housing, Supported Living, Urban, Virtual Retirement Communities, Intergenerational Housing.

Evaluation Methodology

The judges will apply the following test to the final selected candidate in each category;

“Is this claimant the best performed, most meritious, most innovative and most courageous in the category.”

Closing Date

All Awards will be determined by December 31st, 2023.


Each award winner will be notified no later than 1st March 2024. You will be notified by email.

You will be asked if you wish to accept the award.

If you decide to accept, you will be invited to attend the next presentation of the Awards Ceremony to be held in Manchester on Friday, 22nd March 2024 (1pm-4pm).

Your notification email will outline how to accept and provide you with the details of attendance.

It’s important you confirm your attendance to ensure your entry and comfortable hospitality for your guests.

Conditions Of Acceptance

  • Each winner will be required to attend the next presentation ceremony in Manchester on Friday, 22nd March 2024 (1pm-4pm)
  • Each winner is entitled to bring up to five guests
  • The event fee of £685/- includes refreshments for all your guests / media package / media support for 12 months

Use of Award

You are able to use your award in sales, marketing and publicity initiatives without having to obtain consent.

You are not obliged to buy any products, subscriptions or advertising as a result of accepting your award.


Any award can be withdrawn at any time for any reason, if in the opinion of the issuing body, the awards reputation is placed in jeopardy by any word, action or misdeed.


All cancellations must be in writing. Any cancellation received within 30 days of any event will not be entitled to any refund. Full payment will be applied to “no shows”.

General Observations (FAQ)

Q: Do I have to accept my award?

A: No

Q: How do I accept my award?

A: After you are notified by email of your award, you will need to RSVP by the nominated date. If we do not hear from you within that time frame the award offer will be withdrawn and category cancelled.

Q: Can I accept my award and not attend?

A: No.

Q: Can a senior executive or colleague substitute for me?

A: Yes. A senior executive / colleague / senior government official is an acceptable substitute.

Q: What form does the award take?

A: Each winner receives a certificate with an accompanying Citation of Excellence.

Q: Can I bring additional guests to the awards ceremony?

A: Yes, you are able to bring up to five guests to accompany yourself.

Q: Can I change my guest list?

A: Yes, you are free to interchange your guest list for the presentation ceremony at any time.

Q: How will you communicate with me?

A: All communication with award winners will be via email/phone. It is your responsibility to add our email address to the “allowed senders list” or ‘white list’ within your email system to ensure communications delivery.